Writer’s Corner: Illustration Breakdown – DESTAN

Hello again everyone! We have finally come to the last Illustration Breakdown for The Prince of Prophecy Vol. II: Cursed! For those of you who haven’t seen the previous Illustration Breakdowns I encourage you to check out Scarlet and Nicholas’s. This time around I’ll show you the main character of The Prince of Prophecy series, Prince Destan Von Diederich. Again, all the beautiful artworks below were done by my Illustrator Enrica Angiolini.

As you can probably imagine, I wanted Destan to be perfect (you know, since he is my main character and all). Early on in the process, Destan went through some major character design adjustments and in the end I got almost exactly what I picture in my head when I think of him. As with the other characters, Enrica was nice enough to show me step by step how Destan was turning out. Below is a visual example of the process.

NOTE: You can click on any picture to make it larger.

 

First, Enrica drew the initial sketches based on the information I provided her with:

Schermata_2014-10-01_a_12.20.28Schermata_2014-10-02_a_15.42.55

After I approve the sketch Enrica begins to shade the character:

Schermata_2014-10-14_a_15.26.55

Now it’s time to start coloring–this is when the picture really start coming together:

boyscolorDestanDestan (1)

And Finally we have our finished Destan:

Destan (2)

I absolutely LOVE how he turned out–his eyes are gorgeous!

If you’d like to learn more about Nicholas (and see more of his illustrations), purchase copies of The Prince of Prophecy Vol. I: Destined  and The Prince of Prophecy Vol. II: Cursed. Both books have excellent ratings on Amazon and B&N.com, and they’re great reads for anyone who likes fantasy, adventure, and fairy tales!

For new fairy tale, Prince of Prophecy, and Writer’s Corner updates every Wednesday and Saturday, follow this blog!

Leave a Reply

