Happy Birthday Wilhelm Grimm!!!

GrimBrosDesigb

For this post I decided to do something special! Instead of posting one of Grimm’s fairy tales or some facts about Wilhelm Grimm, I’m going to post my sister’s favorite scene of Wilhelm from my third book in The Prince of Prophecy series, Changing Tides. The significance you ask? Well, as luck would have it, my sister’s birthday is also on the 24th of February (and my Mother’s is on the 4th of January which is Jacob’s birthday)! So this is sort of a birthday present to my sister as well as my homage to the late, great, Wilhelm Grimm.

The Grimm Brother’s design above (Jacob’s on the left and Wilhelm is on the right) was illustrated by my amazing illustrator, Enrica “Eren” Angiolini and these t-shirts are available at my Nautilus Press Store!

Now, without further ado, I present to you a section that I’ve named Spring Memories.

Excerpt from The Prince of Prophecy Vol. III: Changing Tides

Spring Memories

“Well, despite you hitting him, I think you did a very good thing for Hansel,” Wilhelm said after Destan had finished explaining what happened earlier that day.

Jacob momentarily lifted his eyes from his book. “He’s fancied Dame Rosamond for quite some time, hasn’t he? It’s about time he made his feelings known to her.”

“That’s what I thought,” Destan said, leaning back in his chair. “I was hoping that by the time I return to our cabin tonight, Hansel will have had a chance to talk to Evie alone like he wanted to.”

“Do you think Genevieve feels the same for him?” Wilhelm asked. “I have a feeling the boy might be crushed if she doesn’t.”

Destan sighed, tilting his head back. “Either way, this will be a valuable learning experience for him. I know how badly he wants to lead, but at times he has trouble taking action. It’ll hurt him if she rejects him, but it won’t kill him—and I know from experience that whatever doesn’t kill you makes you stronger. Hansel has to learn that as well.”

“You’d think almost being eaten by a witch would be experience enough for him,” Jacob said with the smallest of smiles.

“We all learn at different speeds, Jacob,” Wilhelm said. “Perhaps this is exactly the push he needs towards becoming a bit bolder!”

Or it could send him spiraling in the opposite direction if she does reject him,” Jacob noted passively. “He may not ever be inclined to take the initiative again, but that would be the worst case scenario.”

Wilhelm frowned resting his cheek against the palm of his hand. “You’re always so pessimistic—”

“I’m realistic, not pessimistic,” the elder Grimm said quickly.

“What’s the difference?” Wilhelm asked. Jacob only exhaled loudly and returned his attention to his book.

“I’m sure the outcome will be favourable for Hansel,” Destan said. “After all, he and Evie have known each other for quite some time. It seems only natural that they should become an item. Besides that they’ve been through a lot together especially over the past few years.”

“One could say the same for you and Dame Rosamond,” Jacob said.

The prince rolled his eyes. “One could also say the same for Gretel and I, but like Evie, I have no interest in courting either of them. There is another woman to whom my heart belongs and I shall never be untrue to her.”

“Ah yes, your ‘lady fair’,” Wilhelm said with a contented sigh. “I was in love once…”

Jacob shut his book, immediately rubbing at his eyes. “Oh, here we go.”

“I remember the day as if it were yesterday. It was spring and the flowers were all in bloom. She looked absolutely beautiful in her delicate silk dress,” Wilhelm said, smiling absently as he glanced up towards the ceiling. “A gave her a blue flower that I thought matched her eyes and she pushed me into the mud—and that was when I knew that I loved her.”

Jacob groaned. “He was eight and she was our neighbor’s daughter—a vile little ten-year-old who frequently roughed him up.”

“I didn’t mind,” Wilhelm said, his smiling unwavering. “She had such soft knuckles.”

Jacob scoffed now. “Not soft enough. Our parents told him not to bother her, but he was just as stubborn then as he is now.”

“Love beckoned and I answered!” Wilhelm cried passionately.

Jacob slowly shook his head. “You call it love, I call it stupidity.”

“That sounds painful,” Destan said through a chuckle. “You must have felt very strongly for her to endure all that.”

“Mere words cannot describe how much I cared for her. But then one day I saw her pushing another boy into the mud and I knew then that our romance had reached its end.” Wilhelm suddenly frowned, bowing his head. “She had found someone new, and, though it broke my heart, I knew that had to let her go.”

“Needless to say, our mother and father were both relieved when Will told them that she’d found someone else to bully,” Jacob said.

The prince could openly admit that he didn’t know everything about love, but he was certain that it did not entail pushing the object of one’s affection into mud. But it seemed that nothing anyone said would be convincing Wilhelm of this anytime soon.

Destan stood from his seat, brushing the wrinkles out of his clothing. “Well, I do believe I’ve given Hansel an ample amount of time to speak with Evie.”

“Love will prevail! I know it!” Wilhelm cried, placing his hand over his heart. “Ah… The sweet, innocent hearts of the young.”

Jacob crossed his arms over his chest. “Do stop that, Will. You sound like mother. It’s disturbing.”

The prince gave them a final nod before strolling to the door. “I’ll tell you how it went tomorrow, but until then I bid you good night.” He then left the brothers’ cabin heading back to his own.

For new fairy tale, Prince of Prophecy, and Writer’s Corner updates every Wednesday and Saturday, follow this blog!

Leave a Reply

