Happy Birthday Lewis Carroll!

dl-portrait-npg-lewis-carroll

I know this is irregular of me to be posting on a Tuesday, but I couldn’t pass up the chance to pay tribute to an inspiring children’s author on his birthday! That’s right, folks, 183 years ago today, Charles Lutwidge Dodgson (more famously known as Lewis Carroll) was born. So, I did a bit of digging around the internet and found a few things that I didn’t know about Mr. Carroll. Hopefully you find these little known facts as interesting as I did!

  1. Carroll taught mathematics at Oxford University. Whoever thought math and literature could mesh so well together, huh?
  2. He had ten siblings (seven sisters and three brothers) and they all played literary games together when they were children. I’m so jealous–I can’t even get my sister to play Words with Friends with me!
  3. He invented the Carroll diagram (AKA the Lewis Carroll Square)—a method of grouping data that is still taught to this day.
  4. Carroll suffered from quite a few physical and mental ailments including: a stammer, epilepsy, deafness in one ear, and ADHD—I’m never complaining about having to wear glasses again.
  5. He gave the manuscript of Alice’s Adventures Under Ground (the first version of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland) to Alice Liddell (12 at the time), in November of 1864.
  6. Queen Victoria loved Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland so much that she asked if Carroll would dedicate his next book to her. So, in 1867, Carroll sent his ‘next book’, An Elementary Treatise on Determinants to the queen. I bet Queen Victoria found it just as light-hearted and whimsical as Alice! *SARCASM*
  7. Lewis Carroll’s epitaph says: “Where I am, there shall also my servant be.”

 

For new fairy tale, Prince of Prophecy, and Writer’s Corner updates every Wednesday and Saturday, follow this blog!

Leave a Reply

