“The Prince of Prophecy Vol. I: Destined” Excerpt

Gregory laughed softly. “You believe you are without valour?”

“Yes,” Destan mumbled. “I am weak and cowardly, and now I wonder if I am truly humble, as you say I am, or if I simply lack all pride in myself. All of these virtues you claim that I have, may only be disguised shortcomings — that possibility frightens me most of all.”

King Gregory smiled warmly. “Destan, you worry far too much for someone so young.”

The prince glanced up at his grandfather, his brows knitted with concern. “I can’t help it. I don’t want to be a failure or a laughingstock. I want to make you proud, but I always feel as if I fall short of that mark.”

“Listen to me, Destan,” Gregory said, suddenly sounding very serious. “I can only tell you what I have observed and I have observed a kind, humble, and – at times – troubled young man with a good heart and pure intentions. This is what I see when I look at you, though there is only one person in this world who truly knows who you are. Do you know who that is?” Destan blinked before slowly shaking his head. “It’s you, Destan,” the king said before taking the prince’s hand and placing it above his heart. “This is where your true self resides. Every beat of your heart tells a story and I’m afraid I do not know that story, my dear boy. That is yours alone to discover. People can tell you what they see when they look at you and they can try to analyze you, but only you know what lies within the deepest, darkest reaches of your heart. And let me tell you, we all have our deep, dark reaches. In that place where light cannot touch, where love cannot penetrate, this is where we discover who we really are. You will one day have to face that dark place and only then can you know your heart in its entirety. Only then can you say what you are and what you are not.”

The Prince of Prophecy Vol. I: Destined by N.M. Mac Arthur — LAUNCHING THIS SPRING!

Facebook Fan Page: https://www.facebook.com/ThePrinceofProphecy

One thought on ““The Prince of Prophecy Vol. I: Destined” Excerpt

Leave a Reply

